An image of three members of the 2015 selection panel, smiling and laughing.
Selection panel meeting 2015. Image by Rachel Cherry for Unlimited.

Selecting the Selection Panels

Unlimited is a commissions programme awarding grants to disabled artists to make and tour work or to test out ideas – but who makes the decisions about which artists get chosen?

 We wanted to broaden and diversify our panels – and are delighted to be able to now be able to announce who will be on each one. We’ve just chosen our independent panellists and confirmed who will be representing our funders and partners – different people on each panel,enabling people with a range of artform specialisms to be present. Some have chosen not to vote directly, others to pass their vote onto a disabled representative.

Each panel also includes at least five independent representatives to ensure a wide and unbiased perspective from different parts of the arts industry and it’s from this group that the chair for each panel is selected. All panels are disability led and all members of Unlimited, Shape Arts and Artsadmin have no voting rights – they are there to clarify criteria, provide context and fulfil communication/administration roles.

So just who is on each panel? Drum roll please….

Main commissions panel (selecting both the main commissions and the research and development awards):

Louise Sutton (ACE), Jenny Stoves (Arts Council of Wales), Maggie Hampton (representing Arts Council of Wales) Carole McFadden (British Council), Tamsin Ace (Southbank Centre), Tim Nunn (Tramway), Rose Lejeune (independent curator), Maria Oshodi (Extant), Barry Farrimond (OpenUp Music), Richard Butchins (independent artist), Jo Verrent (Unlimited), Manick Govinda (Artsadmin), Tony Heaton (Shape). Chair: Ruth Gould (DadaFest).

International commissions panel (selecting the international collaborations):

Nicola Smyth (ACE), Jenny Stoves (Arts Council of Wales), Maggie Hampton (representing Arts Council of Wales), Neil Webb (British Council), Rupert Thomson (Southbank Centre), Kim Simpson (representing Tramway), Sokny Onn (Epic Arts/Unlimited international producer placement), Dave Dixon (independent artist), Ben Roberts (Artists’ Research Centre), Donald Hutera (independent journalist),Cathy Mager (independent curator and producer),  Kai Syng Tan (independent artist/curator), Jo Verrent (Unlimited), Gill Lloyd (Artsadmin), Jeff Rowlings (Shape). Chair: Sarah Pickthall (Cusp inc).

Emerging commissions panel (selecting emerging artists for the Create and the Participate strand):

Claire Saddleton (ACE), Debbie Lye (Spirit of 2012), Dan Daw (representing British Council), Louisa Pestell (Southbank Centre), Jo Walmsley (Tramway), Damien Robinson (independent artist), Adrian Lee (Musicotopia), Armindokht Shooshtari (New Arts Exchange), Niamh White (independent curator),Aaron Williamson (independent artist) , Jo Verrent (Unlimited), Simon Overington-Hickford (independent artist representing Artsadmin), Emily Crowe (Shape), Fiona Slater (Shape). Chair: Aidan Moesby (independent artist).

We are thrilled that there is a huge range of experience, perspective and diversity within the panels – exactly what we wished for. It’s also worth remembering that the selections start soon – the deadline for submitting an Expression of Interest for any of the callouts is 7th November 2016 – less than one week to go! Good luck and don’t forget to read our FAQ’s.