Unlimited Impact








Previous Selection Panel members

The panel members for the selection process Spring 2016 for Unlimited are:

Main commissions panel (selecting both the Main Commissions and the Research and Development Awards):

  • Louise Sutton (ACE)
  • Jenny Stoves (Arts Council of Wales)
  • Maggie Hampton (representing Arts Council of Wales)
  • Carole McFadden (British Council)
  • Tamsin Ace (Southbank Centre)
  • Tim Nunn (Tramway)
  • Rose Lejeune (independent curator)
  • Maria Oshodi (Extant)
  • Barry Farrimond (OpenUp Music)
  • Richard Butchins (independent artist)
  • Jo Verrent (Unlimited)
  • Manick Govinda (Artsadmin)
  • Tony Heaton (Shape)
  • Chair: Ruth Gould (DadaFest)

International commissions panel (selecting the international collaborations):

  • Nicola Smyth (ACE)
  • Jenny Stoves (Arts Council of Wales)
  • Maggie Hampton (representing Arts Council of Wales)
  • Neil Webb (British Council)
  • Rupert Thomson (Southbank Centre)
  • Kim Simpson (representing Tramway)
  • Sokny Onn (Epic Arts/Unlimited International Producer Placement)
  • Dave Dixon (independent artist)
  • Ben Roberts (Artists’ Research Centre)
  • Donald Hutera (independent journalist)
  • Cathy Mager (independent curator and producer)
  • Kai Syng Tan (independent artist/curator)
  • Jo Verrent (Unlimited)
  • Gill Lloyd (Artsadmin)
  • Jeff Rowlings (Shape)
  • Chair: Sarah Pickthall (Cusp inc)

Emerging commissions panel (selecting emerging artists for the Create and the Participate strand):

  • Claire Saddleton (ACE)
  • Debbie Lye (Spirit of 2012)
  • Dan Daw (representing British Council)
  • Louisa Pestell (Southbank Centre)
  • Jo Walmsley (Tramway)
  • Damien Robinson (independent artist)
  • Adrian Lee (Musicotopia)
  • Armindokht Shooshtari (New Arts Exchange)
  • Niamh White (independent curator)
  • Aaron Williamson (independent artist)
  • Jo Verrent (Unlimited)
  • Simon Overington-Hickford (independent artist representing Artsadmin)
  • Emily Crowe (Shape)
  • Fiona Slater (Shape)
  • Chair: Aidan Moesby (independent artist)

The panel members for the selection process Spring 2015 for Unlimited are:

Aaron Williamson – Independent Artist
In the last ten years, Aaron has created over 300 performances, videos, installations and publications in Britain and internationally, some of which have been inspired by his experience of becoming deaf.

Carole McFadden – British Council
Theatre and Dance Programme Manager for the Middle East and North Africa, East Asia and China, Carole has worked in the Arts for over 30 years.  Her previous roles focused on Film, Television and Animation.

Caroline Bowditch – Independent Artist (representative for Creative Scotland)
Caroline is a Scottish based independent disabled performance maker and choreographer who has been making work in the UK for 10 years. She is passionate about creating work that is accessible to audiences using clear ideas or concepts.  As a result Caroline produces robust and multi-faceted work.  She received the Creative Scotland Award for the Support of Talent at the Art & Business Awards in 2011.

Cathy Mager – Independent Curator and Event Producer, former Bloomsbury Festival Director
Cathy is a freelance curator and event producer with many years of experience of leading and facilitating art and social change projects.  She has worked in a wide range of historic, education, public and community settings and in partnership with local and international business. As Director of Bloomsbury Festival, she managed a year round cultural programme bringing together over 120 organisations and business.

Chenine Bhathena – Greater London Authority
Freelance producer and project manager for the performing arts, Chenine has over 20 year of experience, and a hands-on understanding of the creative process.  She was the Creative Programmer at the Greater London Authority for London 2012, and is currently Senior Cultural Strategy Officer.

Debbie Lye – (observer) Chief Executive of Spirit of 2012
Passionate about literature, the arts and music, Debbie is Chief Executive of Spirit of 2012, which creates opportunities for disabled people to showcase talents and confound limiting perceptions.  In past lives she has championed learning through poetry in special schools and helped embed the right to inclusive sport and play for children around the world.

Jo Verrent (non-voting) – Unlimited Senior Producer
Jo works in arts and culture at strategic levels with national agencies and on the ground with organisations/individuals embedding the belief that diversity adds texture, turning policy into real action.  She is on the Northern Advisory Panel for Arts Council England, has been advising on access for No Boundaries and the Commonwealth Games 2014 and is a Clore fellow.

Manick Govinda (non-voting) – Artsadmin
Senior Advisor and Producer supporting artists across art forms with Artsadmin, Manick’s background lies in the visual and interdisciplinary arts, as a producer, commissioner and writer.

Marc Steene – Pallant House Gallery
As Executive Director at Pallant House Gallery, Marc is a strategic thinker and partnership broker. He sees his work as enabling and celebrating people’s creativity, allowing them to have meaningful relationships with the cultural organisations in their community and developing opportunity for a wide demographic to be involved in the heritage and culture of their society.

Ruth Gould (Chair) – DadaFest
Passionate about Disability and Deaf arts celebrated as cultural diversities, Ruth established the DadaFest in 2001, where she was Chief Executive Officer and became Artistic Director in July 2013.

Sara Beer – Disability Arts Cymru
Sara Beer is a Development Officer with Disability Arts Cymru, the strategic arts organisation for disabled people in Wales, providing information, advice and support for disabled artists across all art forms. Sara’s background is in performance.

Sarah Pickthall – Independent coach, producer and artist
Sarah is an artist, consultant, trainer, transitional coach and community producer. Her organisation, Cusp Inc is all about making people’s lives mean more through striking development interventions and projects and coaching.

Tony Heaton (non-voting) – Shape
Initiator of the NDACA (the National Disability Arts Collection and Archive), Tony is a sculptor and have a long involvement within the disability arts movement, first exhibiting in ‘Out of Ourselves’ in 1990, with fellow disabled sculptor Adam Reynolds. Prior to becoming Chief Executive at Shape, he was Director of Holton Lee, a 350 acre campus with short stay residential facilities for Disabled people.

Tamsin Ace – Southbank Centre
Performance and Dance programmer at one of the major venues of central London, responsible for the Imagine Children’s Festival

Tim Nunn – Tramway
Programmer for performing arts and overall programme manager at the multi and cross arts Tramway in Glasgow. Tim has been a producer for interdisciplinary performance, theatre and dance as well as writing and making sound and photography based art. He had an earlier career as a human rights campaigner which informs much of his work.

Representatives from Arts Council England, Creative Scotland and Arts Council Wales may also be present in an observer capacity.